July is fast approaching and I went looking for more excuses to eat sweeties! It seems like there is a day for pretty much anything these days, probably created by people like me looking for excuses to gorge on something! Chocolate day and National Milk Chocolate Day I shall easily be able to find my vice for. However I run into trouble pondering upon the other two days, National Lollipop Day, I must confess it has been decades since I’ve had a lollipop. Gummi Worm Day I shall also find difficulty locating the right one for me because I’m a vegetarian and Gummi Worms typically contain gelatine.


  • 7th – Chocolate Day
  • 15th – Gummi Worm Day
  • 20th – National Lollipop Day
  • 28th – National Milk Chocolate Day

There are so much choice in the way of lollipops, with most looking great, but nothing really taking my eye. I’ve been thinking about the base of what makes a lollipop a lollipop, just candy on a stick. First thing to come to mind is a toffee apple (called candy apples in America I believe!) and how much I loved those as a child, I’ve completely enamored with the idea. There is also the prospect of caramel apples as well, but I’m having a real love of the idea of toffee apples.

gummy worms

However, I come to the problem that is the Gummi Worms – as previously mentioned they typically contain gelatine which is made the bits of animals that generally aren’t wanted, most often bones and skin of cows and pigs. Its mostly used as a binding agent, but I’ve been looking for alternatives, there are several seaweed-based substitutes and some recommended soy ones as well, but I don’t think I’ll try my hand at making them myself. If anyone has any recommendations of finding gummi-worms that is ok for Vegetarians/Vegans – please leave a comment, I’d love to hear from you!